Intel Core i5

Intel Core i5 processors form the middle class models of the Core i series, which refers more to the functionality and not directly to the performance. This series replaced the Core 2 family in 2008 and has been steadily evolving ever since. With a Core i5 processor, you get a powerful CPU that can handle even more demanding tasks. Therefore, not only office applications, but also image editing, database applications and much more are usually not a problem. Even for players, the handle to a Core i5 CPU can be worthwhile.

Here you will not only get used Core i5 CPUs, but also used computers that already have a Core i5 processor.

Information about the model number

For the four-digit model numbers, the first digit refers to the generation. If this is missing, however, it is a first-generation CPU. Letters such as U, Y, S or T also indicate a lower TDP value. An M marks a mobile processor. If you want to overclock your PC, you should pay attention to a K in the name of the selection, as these processors are specially designed for this purpose.

What are the benefits of each generation of the Intel Core i5?

1st generation

The clock rates here are very similar to the Core i3 models and are at a maximum of 3.33 Ghz. However, these processors have the so-called Intel Turbo Boost technology, which gives them a decisive advantage. Because this allows the dynamic adjustment of performance as soon as the need exists. Otherwise, the power will be reduced to reduce power consumption. In addition, some quad-core CPUs are available, but they do not use hyper-threading, so logically only come on 4 cores.

2nd generation

For the top models, such as the i5-2550K, a turbo clock frequency of 3.8 GHz is possible. However, in comparison to the i3 versions, the approximately twice as large cache of 6 MB makes itself felt. However, the quad-core processors still do not have Hyper-Threading and a graphics processor is not always integrated or activated. These models are powered by the LGA1155 socket.

3rd generation

The Ivy Bridge microarchitecture can be characterized in particular by a higher memory bandwidth, better power management, as well as a more powerful and continuously available graphics unit. This allows the operation of three independent monitors and supports common functions, such as HD images and 3D technology. Furthermore, the new PCI Express version 3.0 is used, which provides more data throughput in the system.

4th generation

With the Haswell microarchitecture, the power consumption increases slightly, at least on paper. Because the integrated GPU gets a significant upgrade and some improvements have been made to the system bus as well. Therefore, it is not possible to continue to use used motherboards of an Ivy Bridge model. For operation, the LGA1150 socket is used here. The notebook also has the new power-saving mode noticeable, which provides noticeably longer battery life and helps some devices to more than 10 hours.

5th generation

If you want to upgrade to an Intel Core i5 processor of the Broadwell architecture, like the predecessor, you need a mainboard with Socket LGA 1150. Above all, Intel has improved the cooling concept, whereby the CPU has also undergone various other changes. For example, some internal processing units have been designed to be larger, which in the end slightly improves performance. As a GPU maximum of the HD Graphics 6000 is used, although there are CPUs that have no integrated graphics unit.

6th generation

The sixth generation has christened Intel on the name Skylake and thus introduced some innovations. In the desktop PC, for example, the socket 1151 moves in, which is why a new mainboard is required for the changeover. However, the biggest advantages of the microarchitecture include the support of Thunderbolt 3 and the optimization in terms of power consumption. In addition, the graphics unit can control three 4K displays and new multimedia formats such as H.265 can be decoded and encoded in hardware.

7th generation

With the Kaby Lake architecture, Intel has improved the manufacturing process, which allows slightly higher clock frequencies. There are no changes to the CPU socket so existing socket 1151 motherboards can continue to be used in the desktop PC. It may be necessary to perform a BIOS update. The integrated graphics unit comes from the HD-600 series, with only drivers for Windows 10 are offered. Incidentally, there are also Core i5-8xxx processors for notebooks that contain an additional G in their name. This indicates that an AMD Radeon Vega M GPU has been integrated as a graphics unit.

8th generation

In the Coffe Lake microarchitecture, the processors for the first time offer six physical cores and additionally achieve higher clock rates. Compared with its predecessor, the performance therefore continues to increase. It should be noted, however, that the known 1151 socket has changed the pin assignment. In the desktop PC, a new motherboard is needed for the switch. For enthusiasts and professional users who want to get the most out of their system, the Core i5-8600K in particular can be particularly suitable as it also allows overclocking.